Taking risks and meeting students in the world they are most familiar with – Social Media.

As I am researching how other middle school teachers are using blogs and Twitter to enhance the educational process, I am coming across some amazing teachers. I am inspired everywhere I turn by educators who are stepping outside of the brick and mortar box; taking risks to connect to students through the world of social media.


Blogging with Middle Schoolers: Frontloading and First Steps

by Heather on September 8, 2010

“So I just finished introducing blogging to my middle school classes. They are hooked, as each year before them was hooked. I use it as a substitute for Reading Logs, that dreaded love-of-reading killer which causes eye rolls in many a Language Arts class. Rather than simply log the quantity of books, perhaps embellishing with a short summary or bibliographical entry, I have them discuss quality.”


Leave a Reply

